Chamber of Real Estate & Builders' Associations, Inc.

A Home for Every Filipino

From the Chairman

Charlie A.V. Gorayeb

Charlie A.V. Gorayeb

Chairman of the Board, CREBA Chairman, CREBA Advocacy & Legislative Affairs Committee Honorary Consul General, Republic of Djibouti

Tribute to Housing & Real Estate Development Advocates

Leading the fortieth anniversary awardees of the Chamber of Real Estate & Builders’ Associations, Inc. (CREBA) are housing luminaries former First Lady and Human Settlements Minister Imelda Romualdez-Marcos, former assemblyman and Human Settlements Deputy Minister Jose Conrado B. Benitez and, the first Chairman of Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council (HUDCC) Teodoro K. Katigbak.  

Prime industry mover CREBA takes cognizance of the pioneering achievements of Mrs. Marcos, Dr. Benitez and Mr. Katigbak in paving the way for landmark developments in housing and real estate development.  They were honored in fitting ceremonies held last October 3, 2013 at the Grand Ballroom of Hotel InterContinental on the occasion of the Chamber’s fortieth anniversary event.

It will be remembered that Mme. Marcos, as Minister of Human Settlements promoted housing not just as a mere dwelling place, but as the focal point of a decent habitat for every Filipino family, integrated and complete with other basic human services.  She put her exalted position and influence in government to good use, by providing valuable policy and political support that enabled significant ideas and proposals for housing and urban development to see the light of day. 

For his part, Dr. Jose Conrado Benitez was credited with making operational the concept of human settlements as the paradigm for integrated development planning of every community in the Philippines, with housing as its core.

As Deputy Minister of Human Settlements, he led in the establishment of a complete and integrated institutional framework to plan and provide for housing as both a self-sustaining sector of the economy as well as its pump primer. This included the establishment of specific institutions that would be responsible for housing production, regulation, marketing, and finance. 

Mr. Teodoro Katigbak was the first Chairman of the Housing and Urban Development Council (HUDCC) that replaced the Ministry of Human Settlements.  

He was able to put flesh and substance to the conceptual framework of production, regulation, marketing and finance, by pushing for their attainment by the National Housing Authority, the Home Development Mutual Fund (Pag-IBIG), the National Home Mortgage Finance Corporation, and the Home Guaranty Corporation, under his dedicated leadership as chairman of each of these key shelter or housing agencies.

Other awardees include members whose dedication and service to CREBA are exemplary.  Ruby Service Awards will be given to Teresita C. Millan, Rosemarie C. Basa, Techie P. Bautista, Avelina P. Acuna, Florante C. Ofrecio and Orlando S. Bongat.  

As the CREBA By-Laws mandates, members who have an accumulated twenty-five years of membership were given the Silver Award.  

CREBA stalwarts who have passed on will also be given posthumous awards for their game-changing contributions. This roster was led by the Atty. Manuel M. Serrano, CREBA founder, no less.

Chapters all over the country who maintain active partnership with their local government, mount chapter activities at the community level and religiously participate in CREBA national affairs were also recognized.  These include the Baguio-Benguet Chapter, Pampanga Chapter, Pangasinan Chapter, Laguna Chapter, Cagayan de Oro Chapter and Negros Occidental Chapter.  

To cap the celebration, leadership awards were given to past presidents of CREBA for their continuing efforts in making the organization a progressive instrumentality of the industry.  These past presidents belong to the Council of Leaders consisting of Dr. Nathaniel Von Einsiedel, Hon. Amado S. Bagatsing, Arch. Antonio A. Turalba, Razul Z. Requesto, Pedro C. Tario, Dominge D. de Vera, Engr. Porthos P. Almajose, Jerry M. Navarrete, Dr. Jaime A. Cura, Purita R. Soliven, Reghis M. Romero II, Florentino S. Dulalia, Jr. and yours truly, Charlie A. V. Gorayeb.

Published in the Manila Bulletin October 2013

Share Post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More from the Chairman

On High Water Rates

The Chamber of Real Estate and Builders’ Associations, Inc. or CREBA is rallying behind a consumer advocacy group called the

Read More »